Ethereum EVM Compatibility

Summary:

To implement compatibility between EVM and Zilliqa so any Solidity programmer can deploy dapps instantly on Zilliqa.

Abstract:

Solidity is the most widely used programming language yet it’s not the most secure though devs want jobs and thus they are more motivated and compelled to write for larger adopted languages. A translator for Scilla would bring more devs to Zilliqa ecosystem. My background isn’t programming but feel free to correct this proposal.

Motivation:

Using scilla only is an disadvantage on the run for market share since solidity won’t go away on the next few years. This could boost the number of users of our ecosystem and kick start a network effect flywheel.

Specification:

I am not tech savvy and I don’t know if it’s doable at all. So I encourage everyone to update and correct this proposal.

For:

Against:

Poll:

1 Like

This is a nice start to a discussion I was having with someone recently. There is a lack of DeFi products in Zilliqa. The issue is that Scilla as a language is still young and lacks support for many of the mathematical operations that is found in Solidity based contracts that are required for DeFi applications (like sushi, aave, bancor, etc…). There might be devs that are implementing the functionality as we speak, but it requires time and not everyone is a mathematical genius. Instead of a fully functioning EVM (because of security concerns), maybe Scilla can support calls to solidity based contracts. The bridge is coming and we are looking for new money to come into the ecosystem, let’s give them a reason to stay in this untapped market. As a community we need to figure what would be the best option and then scoping out the implementation of such a feature.

Options:

1. The Scilla team divert their focus on implementing missing features and contract developers to implement the smart contracts to Gitcoin.

Pros:

• Features a built in natively into Scilla.

Cons: